Touche

Getting humbled, one way or another

Sore Saturday May 22, 2011

Filed under: Hiking/Backpacking — sarahallen24 @ 4:45 pm
Tags:

I’m glad to have the sun back! So is everyone else in the Grand Valley. After 3 days of rain, people were starting to freak out. I noticed Facebook posts such as these:

Day 1   “What a nice change to have a rainy day. I’ll drink some coffee and relax.”

Day 2   “Still raining? Well that’s odd. I didn’t know that could happen here. Surely it’s just a fluke.”

Day 3   “WHY GOD, WHY?! WILL IT EVER BEEN SUNNY AGAIN? DOES THE SUN STILL EXIST??”

Saturday morning I awoke to sore legs and probably looked like a baby horse learning to stand when I got out of bed. I had done an endurance squat workout the day before. I swear I could feel every inch of those muscles and where they attach to the rest of my body. Trying to limp with both legs is impossible. I wanted to ride bikes, but thankfully the trails were muddy anyway; giving me a solid excuse. Instead of sitting around I decided to do a little hiking and attempt to learn how to use that goofy f-stop thingy on my camera.

I went and walked around on the rock shelves of The Ribbon Trail



I brought along my rent-a-pet who is quite vain; she wanted to be in every picture.



There are great views of the Grand Valley up there



After that I went to the Mica Mine trail to play in the water.



I’m trying to learn how to control the settings so you get those nice streaks that show the movement of the water. I’m just barely starting to figure it out.



Happy Sunny Sunday! Don’t take it all in too fast. Best to ease back into it.

 

Leave a Reply

