Touche

Getting humbled, one way or another

Prodigious Powder March 28, 2011

Filed under: Skiing — sarahallen24 @ 10:56 pm
Tags: ,

Note: we’re using the word ‘prodigious’ now rather than ‘epic.’ It’s a grassroots effort.

Yesterday was indeed a prodigious powder day at Aspen Highlands. 3,000 vertical feet of terrain with a foot of fresh snow certainly earns the prodigious title. Emily, Ann and I planned to ski as many laps as possible in Highlands Bowl. I predicted that would be a whopping two laps for me because I never really go hiking for turns. Also, I’ve had just a handful of actual full days of skiing this season. A great thing about working at a ski resort is that you get to ski often, however it’s three runs at a time. So my endurance is…well…not very enduring.

On the hike



Thankfully Ann knows all the good stashes and our first run looked like this…



And our next run looked like this…



And the next run? Yep, light and fluffy!

All together I made three laps in the bowl and realized my need for some endurance training. At least I surpassed my prediction!



 It was such a blast to ski terrain that’s longer and steeper than my usual. Here’s Ann about to drop into our last run.



With my legs wobbling we closed out the bowl and headed down for a relaxing/self-medicating margarita. It may be one of my last full days of skiing for the season and it was a great one!

 

2 Responses to “Prodigious Powder”

  1. Ann Says:

    Thanks for a super fun day Sarah. We both look like the Cheshire Cat in these photos – cats that got the cream! 🙂

  2. sarahallen24 Says:

    We do, don’t we!


Leave a Reply

