Touche

Getting humbled, one way or another

Biking at Work October 4, 2009

Filed under: Biking — sarahallen24 @ 7:57 pm

HOWDY Cowboys and Cowgirls! I’m up in Sheridan, WY right now visiting the fam. Mom’s big 50th is this week. We’re forbidden from talking about it…reminding her….and from using the number 50  in any form. But she’ll just have to get over because the party will be great!

 

While at work on Friday, a couple of us rode the West Bench trail to the top of our main lift and then rode down the mountain. I can never participate in “bike to work day” so this was my alternative. Just bike AT work. Reason #142 that my job doesn’t suck: mountain biking at work.

 

The ride across West Bench is mellow cruising in and out of aspens and meadows.

west_bench_003

 

Trudy tracked down a porcupine….yes, again…you’d think she’d be afraid of them by now. But thankfully it didn’t pummel her with 200 quills. It sauntered up a tree and didn’t mind me taking pictures. He’s got to be the biggest I’ve ever seen!

west_bench_004

 

After a short time riding we arrived at the top of the lift. I found myself scoping my favorite spots, wishing there was snow on the ground.

west_bench_008

 

On the way down

west_bench_012 

 

At our Midway station, the sun setting over the valley. WOW

west_bench_013

 

Carrie had forgotten to bring my helmet so I was trying to play it pretty safe. I had successfully survived the ride…then on the last switchback I really let go. After hitting some loose rock, my back tire fishtailed all over the place causing me to think a crash was imminent. I was able to get control again and just as I looked back at Carrie laughing about my success, two grouse flew out of the brush beside me causing me to scream like a wee little girl and almost die again. But all is well…

 

Leave a Reply

