Touche

Getting humbled, one way or another

I Am the Old Fart February 1, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — sarahallen24 @ 9:37 pm

The other day I went to my favorite coffee shop in the mood for some quiet alone time to read. I don’t get in that mood very often, nor do I get that time very often so I was pretty excited for it. I got my overpriced over-caffeinated tasty beverage and settled into a spot in the quieter side of the coffee shop.

 

Before very long, a group of older ladies (late 60s, early 70s maybe) invaded a table in my area. My quiet time was soon invaded by 6 women all talking at once about the best way to bake at this altitude. It transitioned into an argument about who had the right recipe for who-knows-what kind of casserole.

 

I found myself severly annoyed that they were disturbing MY time! Then it dawned on me just how funny the whole situation was. Here I am, a 26 year old who is thinking…

 

EXCUSE ME I AM TRYING TO READ OVER HERE!

 

COULD YOU USE YOUR FREAKING INSIDE VOICES??

 

HOW DARE YOU COME INTO A PUBLIC PLACE AND MAKE SUCH A RUCKUS!

 

THESE OLD PEOPLE JUST DON’T KNOW HOW TO RESPECT THEIR JUNIORS!

 

wait….what the ??

 

One Response to “I Am the Old Fart”

  1. bartonpoulson Says:

    And, now at 41, balding, graying, and bearded, I just intimidate the teenagers into doing what I want, heh heh heh.


Leave a Reply

