Touche

Getting humbled, one way or another

Uganda December 31, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — sarahallen24 @ 6:23 pm

Looks like I’m going to Uganda! I’ve been wanting it go to Africa for about 3 years and am amazed that it’s finally a serious plan. I’ll be joining a mission trip to areas about 6 hours drive from Entebbe, Uganda for 2 weeks in May. It’ll be my first time out of the country (yipes!) so there will be loads of new experiences.

 

The leadership of this annual trip has already sent the funds for a church to be built in a certain district. That way it provides jobs for locals. The church will be finished by the time we arrive. It’s our job to go hut to hut, to schools, prisons, and villages and share the gospel. We can invite them to their new church where we’ll hold services regularly and play with the kiddos. We’re taking lots of supplies with us to help provide for those we meet and the church family.

 

I’m so excited! I think I’ll get to be part of something huge and have my worldview expanded at the same time. I’ve got a lot of preparation to do- get my passport, get lots of shots, buy clothing (we have to wear skirts while there due to cultural custom), and raise the rest of the funds. It costs $3500 for the trip. That covers flights, lodging, and all our food while in Uganda. I have some money saved up but will need to raise a pretty significant amount. I’ll also need prayer supporters too! I’ll be mailing out a letter with more info so let me know if you’d like to receive it. It’s always weird to ask people for money. I don’t want anyone to feel obligated at all. Only give if you feel like it, otherwise please just pray that the trip would be very impactful on everyone we meet!

 

2 Responses to “Uganda”

  1. Missy Says:

    Hey, send one of your letters this way. Love to help make it happen. So cool!

  2. Andi Says:

    Hey, you may totally laugh at me for this one, but the best travel skirt ever is at http://www.macabiskirt.com/. I bought one before I went to Turkey and I LOVE it. It is super roomy, and airy and quick drying. And you can snap it up to a shorter skirt, or if you are strange you can do the “pants” look on the website. AND it has amazing hidden pockets inside of it. It is well worth the $80 or whatever it costs. Or if you don’t think you’d be wearing it after your trip, I’ll spend the $5 shipping cost and send you mine to borrow for your trip.

    You could also come visit me in Phoenix, and I will take you to some appropriate clothing stores so you could get some “African” culture dress 🙂 We do have those stores here.


Leave a Reply

