Touche

Getting humbled, one way or another

Ski Day #1 December 8, 2008

Filed under: Skiing — sarahallen24 @ 6:41 pm

I’m having to announce to the public today that Powderhorn will be delaying our opening day due to lack of snow. It’s such a bummer that we have to do that, but it’s entirely out of our hands. It’s been insanely busy at work for me recently so I decided to escape yesterday and get my first day of skiing in. My roomate and I hopped in the car and drove the 2 hours to beautiful Telluride where we skied the same 2 runs all day long (they need more snow too).

It feels really good to get out on the skis again…however it’s hard not to come back at the level I was at the end of season last year. I had to find my form again. By the 2nd and 3rd runs I was getting it together again.

telluride_00311

Then I started trying to teach myself 180s again and to ski backward. Why you ask? Well it serves absolutely no purpose…it’s just fun.
I have some work to do.

telluride_004

Leah having a good first day

telluride_00111

Mt. Wilson (a 14er)

telluride_009

Just some goofing around on the way home. Mt. Snefflesin the background (another 14er)

telluride_017

Half the fun of going skiing is the road trip. We always have a good time. For example, this incredibly profound conversation took place on the way home:

(We were driving past a reservoir)

Me:  Buoy is a weird word.
Leah:  Yeah it kinda sounds dirty.
Me:  I’ll give you a dollar if you go up to someone and tell them you like their buoys.
Leah:  Well it’s a lot better then saying ‘I like your dingy’

I couldn’t stop laughing…maybe it was the way she said it…….maybe you had to be there.

 

Leave a Reply

