Touche

Getting humbled, one way or another

Travel Time November 14, 2008

Filed under: Skiing,Travel — sarahallen24 @ 10:41 pm

The winter season is upon us which means it’s travel time. On my days off I like to take advantage of our ski free deal and hit different mountains all over Colorado. I get to ski free at the CO mountains as a benefit…which is a decent consolation prize to not getting paid much.

Thankfully the price of gas is dropping as fast as Paris Hilton’s IQ. Ohhhhh! That was pretty mean. Sorry Paris.

After a day of skiing, a good meal is a must. Somehow a friend and I got on the topic of mountain town restaurants and which are the best. I realized I’ve pretty well eaten my way around this state. These are my favorites, check them out on your ski adventures this season!

Aspen

Believe it or not there are cheaper food options there. For a quick bit, New York Pizza is the best. And some of the best mexican food (and margarita) I’ve ever had can be found at La Cantina.

Copper Mountain Village

You can click out of your skis and walk about 20 steps into Endo’s. That’s instant gratification.

Crested Butte

The Last Steep is the place to go in town. Cheap, amazing breakfast in the mountain village can be found at the Brown Labrador.

Dillon

Dam Brewery is perfect after a day at Loveland, A-Basin or Keystone.

Edwards

After skiing any of the Vail Valley resorts…or on the way home from Breckenridge, the Gas House has the best variety of burgers with curly fries.

Salida

I’ve been skiing (and fortunately cat-skiing) at Monarch a few times now, plus I go to meetings in Salida for work, and we always go to Amica’s afterwards in downtown Salida. They have good, healthy pizzas in a big variety.

Telluride

We keep going back to Brown Dog Pizza.

I’m hoping to make the trip to Jackson Hole this season and will be checking out the famous Mangy Moose and I’ll probably go have a sit on the saddles at the Million Dollar Cowboy Bar.

If you know good spots to check out, let me know! Otherwise I am a creature of habit and won’t try anything new 🙂

Update: Mr. Dan Allen has provided some great additions to the list so we could cover all the Rocky Mtn states-

Red Lodge, MT

Red Lodge Pizza Company. I’m seeing a theme here, pizza is just good after skiing.

Bozeman, MT

You can ski either Big Sky, Moonlight Basin, or Bridger Bowl then hit either Mckenzie River Pizza or the Ale Works (which have amazing fish tacos by the way).

Sheridan, WY

In the good ol’ days when we had Antelope Butte to ski every weekend, Sanford’s Grub & Pub is the perfect dinner spot. I still try to go there at least once whenever I’m at home.

 

Leave a Reply

